(#67) Another Return Visit

Back when the days were longer and hotter, I woofed about our return to the big building with the flying machines.

This week we returned to another big building—the one where people lie in beds and nice people in different colored uniforms work.

And just like the other building, in some ways it was like we never left. The humans stopped, smiled, and said something like, “We’ve missed you!” or “So glad you’re back!”

I have to send a special “WOOF!” to our mentor, Marcie Ryan. She was the human who put me through my first evaluation when Steve and I started the process of becoming a pet therapy team. She has been advocating [like that word? I’m still building my vocabulary!] for our pet therapy teams and getting our visits started again. She is a good human! And she and her pup, Bebé, visited the same day we did this week.

Bebe (Photo taken by Marice Ryan)

The first office Steve and I walked in I was greeted by the sweetest sound of “Roxie! We went to the human and I…well…you know…I showed my belly.

Belly Up! (Photo taken by Marcie Ryan)

Then we went upstairs and saw humans in bright blue uniforms. People call them nurses. (Hoppi used to be one of this people. I hear she was a great nurse. But I digress….)

Well, the first thing I did…well…yeah, you guessed it….I showed my belly.

Attention!

A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. The humans love to touch and love on me. And I get a great massage. Win-win if I must say so myself.

Like all of these visits, afterwards I was a pooped pup. And it was well worth the effort.

Steve talks about how these visits help humans breathe and connect with a little bit of inner peace.

Connecting with and helping humans. I like my purpose. No. Make that, I love my purpose!

WOOF!

____________

Thanks for coming back to my blog. You make me happier than biscuits!

My book, Roxie Looks for Purpose Beyond the Biscuit, is still available. I share stories and lessons about friends, family, and fun. And I speak about purpose as well. (Steve says for dogs we might just want to call it “furpose.” He makes words up, I think.) The book holds a biscuit or two for you or for a friend!

WOOF!

The Growth and Resilience Network®
Steve Piscitelli. 2021©

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started